top of page
Search

To Query Or Not To Query? That is the question.

Updated: Feb 7, 2019

You finish your novel. Now what? It's been through beta readers, your critique group, and your mother. The changes have been made, the reviews raving.

What are some options?

Self-publish or publish.

Before you publish through a professional publishing house, there are some roadblocks. Most publishing houses won't accept the work you have slaved over without a literary agent and for good reason. Imagine the hundreds of querys they would receive! Literary agents alone receive hundreds a week, or so I've been told. The literary agnet helps move your work onto bigger and better things by using marketing techniques to promote the product. They sell your story to the publishing house of their choosing. Form what I have gathered, a literary agent can sell novels at auction or by contacting publishing houses, but they take a percentage of the profit when it's sold. The percentage depends on what the author and their agent negotiate.

Self-publishing is difficult but possible. For me, it's hard because writing is what I do on the side. I have a full-time job, a family, and a household to manage. It's hard to keep up with marketing, engaging with your folowers, and finding all the resources you need to polish a novel. Having full control of your novel is a bonus. I can pick my book cover and where to sell my novel.

This is for each individual to decide, though. The author must choose which path to take. I'm still figuring out what I want. What are your thoughts on publishing and self-publishing? Do you see any hidden pros or cons? I'm going to discuss a query and the content on my next blog coming soon.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Golden Heart

My second book in the Blood War novel series is available NOW for pre-order at Amazon. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XZN27FC This full-length novel can be read as a standalone. Each story features a di

A Frozen Heart Available NOW!

A Frozen Heart, my debut novel, is available now on Amazon! I'll be posting the link below... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07SPVP5ZG Sometimes the choices we make can be colder than ice... When cursed v

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page